If you are planning to study in the UK as an international student, the two numbers that matter most for your budget are the tuition fee and the cost of living. Based on editorially compiled reference ranges as of 4 May 2026, undergraduate tuition for international students ranges from £11,000 to £38,000 per year, while postgraduate programmes range from £12,000 to £45,000 per year. Living costs vary by city, with London at the top end at £15,000–18,000 per year and cities like Leeds and Nottingham at the lower end at £10,000–12,500 per year.

These are wide ranges, and the actual figure you pay depends on the institution, the course level, and the city you choose. This article explains how to read these bands, which numbers are likely to change, and where to verify them against official sources.

Tuition fee bands: what the ranges actually cover

The tuition ranges below reflect published international fees across UK universities, not a single fixed rate.

Study Level International Tuition Range (per year)
Undergraduate £11,000–38,000/year
Postgraduate £12,000–45,000/year
Foundation Year £10,000–25,000/year
International Year One £12,000–28,000/year

The undergraduate band of £11,000–38,000 per year is broad because it covers everything from classroom-based humanities courses at newer universities to laboratory-intensive programmes and professional degrees at established institutions. Postgraduate tuition sits slightly higher overall, with a band of £12,000–45,000 per year. Foundation year programmes, which prepare students for degree-level study, fall in a lower band of £10,000–25,000 per year, while International Year One programmes—an alternative pathway that combines foundation-level study with the first year of a degree—range from £12,000 to £28,000 per year.

What these bands do not tell you is the exact fee for a specific course. Two universities offering the same subject can charge very different amounts, and fees can also vary within the same institution depending on the faculty. The ranges are a planning tool, not a price list.

Living costs: the city factor

Living costs are the second major component of your budget, and they vary more by location than by institution.

City Living Cost Range (per year)
London £15,000–18,000/year
Oxford £13,000–16,000/year
Cambridge £12,000–15,000/year
Manchester £11,000–14,000/year
Edinburgh £11,000–14,000/year
Birmingham £10,000–13,000/year
Bristol £11,000–14,000/year
Glasgow £10,000–13,000/year
Leeds £10,000–12,500/year
Southampton £10,000–13,000/year
Nottingham £10,000–12,500/year

London is the most expensive city in the dataset, with annual living costs of £15,000–18,000. Oxford and Cambridge sit in the middle, at £13,000–16,000 and £12,000–15,000 respectively. Manchester, Edinburgh, and Bristol all fall in the £11,000–14,000 range. Birmingham and Glasgow are lower at £10,000–13,000, while Leeds and Nottingham have the lowest bands at £10,000–12,500 per year.

These figures cover accommodation, food, transport, and other day-to-day expenses. They do not include tuition fees, visa costs, or the Immigration Health Surcharge. The range within each city reflects different lifestyles—sharing accommodation versus living in university halls, cooking at home versus eating out, and how much you travel.

The gap between the highest and lowest city bands is substantial. A student in London could spend nearly double what a student in Leeds spends on living costs in a year, even before tuition is factored in. This is why city choice matters as much as course choice when you build a budget.

What the UK government requires you to prove

Beyond tuition and living costs, the UK Student Route visa (formerly Tier 4) requires you to demonstrate financial capacity. The official financial requirement is £1,334 per month for living costs if you study in London, or £1,023 per month if you study outside London, plus one year of tuition fees. This is the amount you must show in your bank account for the visa application, and it is calculated for the duration of your course.

There is also the Immigration Health Surcharge, which is £776 per year. This gives you access to the UK's National Health Service during your studies. Note that this article does not state the visa application fee itself—the amount changes and you should check the official government page for the current figure.

The financial requirement is a visa threshold, not a recommendation. It does not necessarily reflect what you will actually spend, but it is the minimum you must prove you have.

Which numbers are likely to change

The figures in this article are a snapshot as of 4 May 2026. Several categories are subject to change:

  • Tuition fees are set by individual universities and can be revised for each academic year. The ranges given here are a guide, not a guarantee.
  • Living costs vary with inflation, housing market conditions, and your personal spending habits.
  • Visa financial requirements and the Immigration Health Surcharge are set by the UK government and can be adjusted. The figures quoted here are the values as of the data benchmark date.
  • Visa application fees are not included in this article at all. The government publishes these on the official Student Route page, and you should always check the current amount before applying.

The official sources for course and fee information are UCAS for undergraduate courses, which maintains a centralised application service where all UK universities list their programmes, and individual university websites for postgraduate courses, as there is no central postgraduate registry. For official statistics on graduate outcomes, earnings, and student satisfaction, the Higher Education Statistics Agency (HESA) and the Discover Uni platform provide course-level data.

How to use this information for budgeting

When you build a budget, start with the tuition band for your specific course level, then add the living cost band for the city you plan to study in. Use the upper end of each range for a conservative estimate, and the lower end for a minimum baseline. Then add the visa-related costs: the Immigration Health Surcharge of £776 per year, the visa application fee (check the current amount on the official page), and any additional costs like ATAS certification if your course requires it, or a tuberculosis test if you are from a listed country.

The financial requirement for the visa—£1,334 per month in London or £1,023 per month outside London—is a useful reference point for the minimum you need to demonstrate, but your actual monthly spending may be higher or lower depending on your lifestyle.

Data notes

The figures in this article are editorially compiled reference ranges, not official statistics, with a data benchmark date of 4 May 2026. Tuition fee ranges reflect published international fees across UK universities and are not specific to any single institution. Living cost ranges are city-level estimates and do not include tuition, visa fees, or the Immigration Health Surcharge. The visa financial requirements and Immigration Health Surcharge are government-set values as of the benchmark date and may be revised. The visa application fee is deliberately not stated here—refer to the official Student Route page for the current amount. Course and fee information should be verified through UCAS for undergraduate programmes and through individual university websites for postgraduate programmes. Official statistics on graduate outcomes and student satisfaction are available via HESA and Discover Uni.